Friday, August 30, 2019

NITI aayog

Vip technique

NITI Aayog

  • The NITI Aayog is a new body set up by the Government of India on January 1, 2015, to replace the Planning Commission.
  • On August 15, 2014, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced to replace the Planning Commission with a new institution in his address.
  • NITI Aayog is a non-constitutional body.
  • The full form of NITI Aayog is 'National Institution for Transforming India'.
  • NITI Aayog (Headquarters-Delhi) is a Government of India think tank.
  • The NITI Aayog does not make any financial allocation like the Planning Commission.
  • The primary function of the NITI Aayog is to advise the government on social and economic issues so that the government formulates a plan that is in the interest of the people.
  • The structure of NITI Aayog consists of Chairman, Vice-Chairman, CEO, Full Time Member, Governing Council, and Special Invitees.
  • 13-point objectives have been set for NITI Aayog.
  • NITI Aayog is headed by the Prime Minister.
  • The Chairman (first) of NITI Aayog is Narendra Modi.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the Deputy Chairman of NITI Aayog.
  • The vice-president gets the status of a cabinet minister.
  • The CEO is a Secretary level officer of the Government of India appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed term.
  • The First Deputy Chairman of NITI Aayog was Arvind Panagadia.
  • The first CEO of NITI Aayog was Sindhushree Khullar.
  • The number of full-time members is 5, who is equal to the rank of Minister of State.
  •  The maximum number of ex-officio members is 4 who are nominated by the Prime Minister.
  • The Governing Council consists of the Chief Minister of India and the Governor / Administrator of the Union Territories.
  • The special invitee member includes experts from various fields who are nominated by the Prime Minister.
  • The implementation of NITI Aayog rests with the Central Government and the State Government.
  • The Council gives final approval on the plans.