Friday, September 6, 2019

Mughal Administration

Vip technique
Judicial Administration of the Mughals

Mughal Administration
Mughal Administration

The following courts used to be in the Mughal period

(1) Emperor's court- In the Mughal period, the emperor was the head of justice. The emperor used to do justice in the general court on one day of the week i.e. on Wednesday. The last court of appeal used to be the Emperor's Court.

(2) Pradhan Qazi's court- After the Emperor's court, there was the court of Pradhan Qazi. Pradhan Qazi used to do justice in his court according to the rules of Islam.

(3) Provincial courts- There was a Qazi court in the capital of each province.

(4) Town courts- Like every province, there was a Kazi in each town. The cases of villages, towns, and cities were heard by the panchayats.

Crime and Punishment Legislation

According to Islamic theology, there were three types of crimes-

(1) divine offense
(2) State Crime
(3) personal offense

There were 4 types of punishment in the Mughal period-

(1) Extent- This punishment was given for divine offense. This punishment was mainly for adultery, drinking, stealing, robbery, murder, and anti-religious acts.

(2) Tajir- Tajir punishment was given to improve the offender. The punishment of the criminals inside the Tajir depended on the will of the judge.

(3) Kissas (revenge)- Kissas were given for punishment, murder or deep injury.

(4) Tasha here (Public Condemnation)- This law was for Hindus.